Late night run to Wilson’s BBQ

Pork ribs from Wilson's.

Pork ribs from Wilson’s.


Some very cool news came from DFW.com’s Malcolm Mayhew earlier this week – east side BBQ joint Wilson’s Bar-B-Q has extended its hours to midnight. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I can’t think of another barbecue restaurant in Fort Worth that keeps late hours.

Being a Wilson’s regular, I wanted to see if owner Leroy Wilson could maintain the same consistency he gets in the afternoon vs. late in the evening. I visited at 11pm tonight, expecting the worst – for the place to be closed (Wilson’s doesn’t always stick to advertised hours). When I saw cars in the drive-through line, I breathed a sigh of relief, then expected the worst again – to be served what was left over from the day. Eight bucks later, Leroy handed me a small rack of pork ribs and a 1/4 pound of brisket.

As per usual at Wilson’s, the brisket was the type served in a lot of other Fort Worth barbecue joints – lean and clean slices with the fat trimmed off. To me, it was a little on the dry side, but it did have a bright red smoke ring and accompanying smoky flavor. A tiny layer of crust added some peppery pizzazz.

Pork ribs were of Wilson’s typical high quality. These little baby backs had a lot of pink meat under sheaths of blackened crust. Like usual, the slightly sweet rub was spot-on. I’m glad to see that even late at night, Wilson’s is still putting out good barbecue.

Mayhew reported that Wilson wants to stay open even later – as in all night. It looks like that could happen sooner rather than later. A new 24-hour sign is already in place and the building has been repainted with 24-hour advertisements. I see a 3am rib-run in my immediate future. 6513 Brentwood Stair Rd.

Coming soon: a 24-hour drive through window.

Coming soon: Wilson’s 24-hour drive through window.

Leave a Reply

